Ready to submit to our twelfth annual Electronic Music Composition Contest?


Read the rules below and ENTER here.


Please share this announcement with your friends, audiences, and communities.


Our annual juried contest spotlights new musical talent from around the world, offering cash prizes and opportunities to be published and heard. 


First prize: Cdn. $500, a composer profile in Musicworks  and the composition released on the Musicworks CD in 2023.

Second prize: Cdn. $200 and composer coverage on in 2023.

Third prize: Cdn. $100 and composer coverage on in 2023.



Marcelle Deschênes Prize in Electronic Music / prix Marcelle Deschênes pour la musique électronique: Cdn. $300 and a composer profile in 2023. Learn more about the prize. 

Compose and submit an experimental piece(s) in any electronic-music genre—acousmatic, electroacoustic, glitch, soundscape, intelligent dance music (IDM), turntable art, or video music etc.
The contest is open to entries from anywhere in the world and from artists at any stage of their careers. Pieces must be previously unpublished, i.e. not released on a commercially available recording at the time of submission.
Maximum length: 10 minutes.       Accepted file types: MP3 or MP4 only.
This is a juried contest. Jurors will not know the identities of the entrants.
Please do not include your name in the filename / title of your submission. Please remove credits if you are submitting video music.



Entry fee is $25, and all entrants receive a one-year print subscription to Musicworks (Cdn. $41-$56 value). Additional entries are $5 each, unlimited.

Meet the first-place winners of previous Electronic Music Composition Contests and get inspired by their winning works!

2021 Mariana Vieira (Portugal)

2020 Rocío Cano Valiño (Argentina / France)

2019 Alex Buck (Brazil / California)

2018 Manuella Blackburn (Manchester, U.K.)

2017 Erik Ingalls (Windsor, Ontario)

2016 Craig Aalders (Vancouver, British Columbia)

2015 Juan Camilo Vásquez (Bogota, Colombia)

2014 James O’Callaghan (Montreal, Quebec)

2013 Margaret Noble (San Diego, California)

2012 Bennett Jenisch (Los Angeles, California)

2011 Ian Battenfield Headley (New York, New York)