Our 8th annual Electronic Music Composition Contest closes OCTOBER 26.


Read the rules and ENTER here.


Please share this news with your friends, followers, and community.



First prize is $500 CDN, a composer profile in Musicworks 133, Spring 2019 issue (both in print and online) and the composition released on the Musicworks 133 CD.
Second prize is $200 CDN and composer coverage on musicworks.ca.
Third prize is $100 CDN and composer coverage on musicworks.ca.
Compose / submit an experimental piece in any electronic-music genre—acousmatic, electroacoustic, glitch, soundscape, intelligent dance music (IDM), turntable art, or video music.
The contest is open to entries from anywhere in the world and from artists at any stage of their careers. Pieces must be previously unpublished, i.e. not released on a commercially available recording at the time of submission.
Maximum length: 10 minutes. Accepted file types: MP3 or MP4 only.
This is a juried contest. Jurors will not know the identities of the entrants. Please do not include your name in the filename / title of your submission. Jury process begins in November 2018, and winners will be notified in February 2019. 

Contest entry fee ($25 CDN) includes a one-year subscription to Musicworksless than our normal subscription rate! Additional entries are $5 each, unlimited.


First place winners of our past Electronic Music Composition contests include:


2017 Erik Ingalls (Windsor, Ontario)

2016 Craig Aalders (Vancouver, British Columbia)

2015 Juan Camilo Vásquez (Bogota, Colombia)

2014 James O’Callaghan (Montreal, Quebec)

2013 Margaret Noble (San Diego, California)

2012 Bennett Jenisch (Los Angeles, California)

2011 Adam Basanta (Montreal, Quebec)